The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

Resolution No. 2002-11

A RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH A COMMITTEE WITHIN THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ADDRESSING ISSUES REGARDING THE TRAIL OF TEARS NATIONAL HISTORICAL TRAIL

- WHEREAS, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and;
- WHEREAS, Public Law 100-192 (16)(A) enacted The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, December 16, 1987 by the 100th Congress, that allows the Secretary of the Interior to give special consideration to the establishment of appropriate interpretive sites for Trail of Tears consisting of water routes and overland routes traveled by the Cherokee Nation during its removal from ancestral lands in the East to Oklahoma during 1838 and 1839 and,
- WHEREAS, Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes desires to protect and preserve the historic heritage of all Southeast cultures it represents by addressing mutual concerns relevant to all trails that might become part of the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, and
- WHEREAS, the Secretary of the Interior has appointed one person from each of the Five Civilized Tribes to the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail Advisory Council to network with the National Park Service regarding Trail activities, and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby shall establish a five (5) member Trail of Tears Committee made up of those persons already serving on The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail Advisory Council for the purposes of review current law and making recommendations to Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes regarding the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail. (see attached list)

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes supports amendment of Public Law 92-16(A) to include within its scope the removal of the Muscogee Creek Nation, the Chickasaw Nation, the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma and the Cherokee Nation.